Want to get rid of the ads? Become a member by registering today.
The Mariah Owners Club

Forum Left Top

Welcome to the The Mariah Owners Club.

Front Towbars... whats your experience

Trailering and Tow Vehicles

Old 03-29-2008, 11:11 AM   #1

bakdraft is currently offline
Find me on the Map
Gallery Images: 0

Send bakdraft:
a Private Message

Lightbulb Front Towbars... whats your experience

Hi,

I am considering fitting a front ( of vehicle) tow bar. Has any one got any experience of them?

Here is a site with a video demo...

I like the neat remove it to hide it feature....

Add a wireless camera to the stern of the boat... perfect...

Dave
  • Old 03-30-2008, 05:22 AM   #2

WetWilly is currently offline
    Find me on the Map
    My Year: 1996
    My Model: Z240 Talari
    My Engine: 7.4L Bravo III
    Gallery Images: 25

Send WetWilly:
    a Private Message

Hi bakdraft,

Well now, I've been backing boats down the launch ramps for over 26 years now so I don't see a need for one of these myself at the ramp but I have to admit, it would be nice at home parking the Talari as it can get real tight (little street, limited room).

Now if someone really can't or does not want to learn how to backup a trailer, then this might be a nice addition as long as what ever you’re moving doesn’t weight too much.

The front ends of most vehicles are not rated for a lot more additional weight or stress applied to the steering components. Not too bad with the trucks but I wouldn’t do it to a car and certain not with anything larger that a 18’ or 19’ Mariah unless you have a real truck with a real frame.

Another thing, if you use this towbar and you have a “real boat”, and you only have two wheel rear drive, your driving wheels will now be up hill and all the weight will be on the wheels that steer, might be a little hard getting enough traction. Although it may be a good thing if you have front wheel drive...