Want to get rid of the ads? Become a member by registering today.
The Mariah Owners Club

Forum Left Top

Welcome to the The Mariah Owners Club.

SC19 2006 planing problems

Prop Talk

Old 09-11-2012, 05:14 PM   #1

theraami is currently offline
Find me on the Map
My Year: 2007
My Model: SC19
My Engine: 3.0 Mercruiser
Gallery Images: 0

Send theraami:
a Private Message

Default SC19 2006 planing problems

Hi there,

Could someone give me opinion what seems to be goog prop for SC19 with 3,0 engine?
I ask because I have big big difficulties to get my boat planing when there is more than three people onboard. We tried wakeboarding too, and that was almoust hopeless... I'm not experienced concerning boats (or english language!) and this is my first boat. I only know it has 3 blades and it's aluminium. Maybe I have too small engine too?

I'm not so intrested about top speed, main thing is to get it planing easily.

Link to my boat:

Mariah SC19 moottorivene 2006 - Nettivene

(In Finnish, sorry)

Rami
  • Old 09-11-2012, 06:03 PM   #2

mikeyt is currently offline
    Find me on the Map
    My Year: 1996
    My Model: Shabah 180
    My Engine: 4.3
    Gallery Images: 14

Send mikeyt:
    a Private Message

Default Re: SC19 2006 planing problems

hi Rami. Just as a learning guide, read thru our Basic Propellor rules and give yourself a little education on how to choose a prop.

That said... yes a 3.0L is a small engine in a 19' boat but it can be made to plane easier. We really do need to know what prop is on your boat now though. If you take the prop off the boat and look at the backside you should see the size printed around the hub of the prop. It will look something like 14.25 x 19. The 14.25 is the diameter of the prop and the 19 is the pitch of the prop blades. In theory 1 revolution of the prop should move you forward 19".... but reality gets in the way of theory an awful lot.