The Mariah Owners Club

The Mariah Owners Club (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/)
-   Original Mariah Talk (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/)
-   -   need advise on buying 2001 Mariah (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/2345-need-advise-buying-2001-mariah.html)

urim 04-21-2009 03:48 AM

need advise on buying 2001 Mariah

hi,

i am looking into buying a 2001 Mariah, 20ft, V8, 5.0L boat.
need advise if this is a smart thing to do given the fact that spare parts are scarce.
as i am new to this kind of boats i would like to get advise if this is a good move or do i need to look for a different model/year?

thanks in advance

Uri

blockp 04-21-2009 01:35 PM

Re: need advise on buying 2001 Mariah

Uh, no offense, but you are asking this question on a Mariah forum where we are all obviously bios towards our boats. Yes, absolutely buy it! Sight unseen if you have to! :yes_grin:

Seriously though, have it checked out thoroughly to make sure it's solid. Just because it's one of the best boats ever built, doesn't mean that it's been taken care of. 8 years of abuse and it could be ready for the scrap yard. Or, 8 years of proper maintenance and spoiling and it might be the nicest 2001 around.

Z 202 04-21-2009 02:01 PM

While some of the parts were made in house by Mariah, most of these are robust enough that if the boat has been properly cared for, shouldn't need any immediate replacement. Just an FYI, the original Mariah offered a lifetime warranty on their hull, which should give you an idea of how confident they were in desiging and building these boats.

All of the parts for the driveline (engine and outdrive) are readily available, as Mercruiser is still in business. :)

We have a long list of suppliers in the Mariah Parts thread who can provide replacements for a large portion of the other hardware on the boat.