The Mariah Owners Club

The Mariah Owners Club (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/)
-   Original Mariah Talk (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/)
-   -   New Member - Getting ready for first Mariah purchase (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/1648-new-member-getting-ready-first-mariah-purchase.html)

stereoman405 08-28-2008 03:33 PM

New Member - Getting ready for first Mariah purchase

Hi all,

I'm heading out today to take a test drive in a '98 Shabah 222. It has a Volvo 7.4Gi / DP with 400 hours on her. Second owner. From the pics it looks pretty clean. I'm not new to boating, but I am new to Mariahs. Is there anything I should look in particular while checking it out? The only things that I know of that are wrong with it is the trim gauge doesn't work (hoping its the sender), and the lift for the engine bay is toast.

Please give some advice as I'm heading out in 8 hours and would like to drive it home tonight if it checks out. If its really clean is $15,500 a good price? Being that they're so rare I just don't know what to expect come resale time.

Thanks!
Shane

indykoch 08-28-2008 03:59 PM

Shane,

Sounds like a decent deal. Some things to check... especially if it's a "Z" package (docking lights, power seat, defogger, etc.) check that all switches work. Mariahs have so many electronics and gadgets that you can't help but run into a few electrical gremlins once in a while. Usually it's just a corroded connector. Check that all plastic and vinyl pieces are in good shape (can't get them anymore). Besides the regular engine items like temperature, volts, etc., I'd ask for service records. Listen for odd noises. Mariahs are well built, solid boats and should show well if it's been taken care of.

Good luck and let us know how it goes!!!

stereoman405 08-28-2008 06:00 PM

Thanks Ryan,

Yes it is a 'Z' series. (Just found out, which books for higher :-)