The Mariah Owners Club

The Mariah Owners Club (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/introductions/)
-   -   Question about my drive (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/introductions/12227-question-about-my-drive.html)

NewbieTalariOwner 01-24-2019 05:14 AM

Question about my drive

I'm new to boating and posting on forums, so go easy on me.
A couple weeks ago I just picked up a 1997 mariah talari 21ft with cuddy Cabin. It's only got 300 original hours on it and was only used in fresh water. It has the mercruiser 5.7L. I think I got it for a good deal. At about hour 250 the previous owner did a stroker kit on it. It supposedly pushes 420hp now, according to the shop that put it in. So they didn't do anything to the drive. I've read about the alpha 1 is the ticking time bomb. Does anyone know what drive came on this boat?
Also if it is the alpha one, is there any danger of running it until it goes out, or should you convert to a bravo before it breaks?

mikeyt 01-24-2019 03:49 PM

Re: Question about my drive

In general, the Alpha 1 is not a 'ticking time bomb' but when you push it to well over its rated hp limit of 300hp as you suggest was done to your boat, then you are asking for trouble.

The Bravo 1 is a larger, more robust outdrive with a safe max Hp rating of 500 so that should satisfy your needs. The Bravo 1 is also interchangeable with only a few modifications needed such as additional mounting holes, the water pump on a Bravo 1 is an engine mounted belt drive unit rather than mounted in the outdrive so brackets & a new belt are needed and the engine coupler will need to be changed. It will require pulling the engine too. And if you're going to do that, you might want to check your trim / tilt switches to see if they need replacing along with any other 'wear' parts in the transom.

Your boat likely came with an Alpha 1

NewbieTalariOwner 01-24-2019 05:57 PM