The Mariah Owners Club

The Mariah Owners Club (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/)
-   Original Mariah Talk (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/)
-   -   cavitation problem (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/8667-cavitation-problem.html)

Nubs45 08-13-2013 07:02 PM

cavitation problem

On my 96 Shabah, 4.3 Alpha One, it wants to porpoise. I have to keep the trim down most all of the time. Doesnt matter how much weight I put in the front. Gets viloent so can run at cruising speed unless water is like glass.Ive read other post and everybody seems to like the trim tabs. Is this problem a design flaw in the boat? Seems to be a problem more than it should. I love my boat, just saying. Ive read about the cavitation anode, Ive seen pics online where they were taking measurements from the hull to the outdrive and using a straight edge. Im a capable mechanic but its a little confusing. I do have a small chunk that was knocked out of the fin where the outdrive bolts to the lower unit. Also about 25% of the fin that protects the prop is missing also.
This was done before i bought it this past spring. Only gave 4k for it, i thought it was a good deal.
Other than that, runs strong, no leaks, got that pre-ignition problem like everyone else it seems, but gonna try some higher octane gas and check timing at end of season.
Anyway, any thoughts on the porpoising problem?

mikeyt 08-13-2013 09:55 PM

Re: cavitation problem

hi Richard. I have the same boat and dont experience the problems your boat has so its not a 'design flaw' and this isn't a "cavitation problem". And uh.. a 'cavitation anode'??? Anodes have nothing to do with the stability of your boat. They are simply installed to provide protection against the electrical currents your boat/motor generate from eating your outdrive alive.