The Mariah Owners Club

The Mariah Owners Club (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/)
-   Prop Talk (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/prop-talk/)
-   -   1998 Jubilee 204 - Need Prop Help (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/prop-talk/3153-1998-jubilee-204-need-prop-help.html)

Taylor-played 08-06-2009 03:11 PM

1998 Jubilee 204 - Need Prop Help

I have a 1998 Jubilee 204 with a 4.3L that tops out at 4400 rpm and top speed at 34 mph (gauge)... With a even balanced load it still takes almost 10 seconds to get up on plane...

I currently have a 17 pitch prop and could use some advice on prop selection as I am new at this part of the puzzle...

What Prop to get best overall performance... I float and the kidz tube... no skiing

Should I add a SE Performance Hydrofoil or smart tabs ?? :confused:

Thanx in advance for the help.. Brian

mikeyt 08-07-2009 01:04 AM

Re: 1998 Jubilee 204 - Need Prop Help

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taylor-played (Post 17508)
I have a 1998 Jubilee 204 with a 4.3L that tops out at 4400 rpm and top speed at 34 mph (gauge)... With a even balanced load it still takes almost 10 seconds to get up on plane...

I currently have a 17 pitch prop and could use some advice on prop selection as I am new at this part of the puzzle...

What Prop to get best overall performance... I float and the kidz tube... no skiing

Should I add a SE Performance Hydrofoil or smart tabs ?? :confused:

Thanx in advance for the help.. Brian

Well, i wont ever recommend hydrofoils but i would recommend the Smart Tabs given the performance gains and the planing improvements.

As for the prop, if you are already running a 17" pitch and hitting 4400rpm at WOT there's not a lot of room to play there as your recommended range is 4400-4800 at WOT). Going with a higher pitch to gain some speed will lower your rpms. The 4.3L has got its work cut out for it on your boat. See what results you get with the Smart Tabs before considering a prop change.