The Mariah Owners Club

The Mariah Owners Club (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/)
-   Original Mariah Talk (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/)
-   -   1997 Shabah 180 Steering Issue (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/original-mariah-talk/1732-1997-shabah-180-steering-issue.html)

rbeaton 09-21-2008 07:30 PM

1997 Shabah 180 Steering Issue

This is my first post and I think the site is great! I have a 1997 Shabah 180 and the steering has become extremely tight. I was told the power steering pump is good and of course it has good fluids. This is my first boat and I'm still learning and figuring things out but this steering issue is pretty frustrating. I do not have an owner's manual and others that I have asked are stumped. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated? Thanks!

300sflyer 09-21-2008 07:56 PM

When you say the steering has become "tight" I assume you mean difficult to turn the steering wheel, instead of that there is no play in the steering? Is this just when you are driving the boat in the water, or when you run the engine with ear muffs too? How is it with out the engine running?

rbeaton 09-21-2008 08:54 PM

Thanks for the reply Mike. Yes...I meant tight as being difficult to steer. It is difficult to steer all the time and especially difficult when in the water.

300sflyer 09-21-2008 11:16 PM