The Mariah Owners Club

The Mariah Owners Club (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/)
-   Mercury MerCruiser (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/mercury-mercruiser/)
-   -   4.3L Oil in the Bilge but no water in oil (http://www.mariahownersclub.com/forum/mercury-mercruiser/5493-4-3l-oil-bilge-but-no-water-oil.html)

dwymer64 05-22-2011 09:31 PM

4.3L Oil in the Bilge but no water in oil

So I had my 2007 SX19 de-winterized an took it to the lake. It ran great with no issues at all. Until I got home and pulled the bilge plug to drain whatever water had accumulated during the day. The water was oily and black. Of course this concerned me quite a bit so i checked the dipstick and the oil leve was ok and looked normal. I decided to take it to a friends small lake today and run it and see if I could see where it might be leaking and it appears to be coming from under the engine somewhere. I can see water dripping while it is running and again the water is oily. I'm not a mechanic, but would assume that if it was leaking oil, then there would be water getting into the oil. Any ideas what might be going on? I'm taking it to a mechanic tomorrow to have him check it out but wanted to see if anyone else might have had this occur to them. Thanks.

Dave

csterner 05-30-2011 03:01 PM

Re: 4.3L Oil in the Bilge but no water in oil

Not sure if you fixed this yet, but I was talking to my boat mechanic and he told me that he had 5 boats so far this year that people thought they had cracked blocks due to oil in bilge and all 5 turned out to be a leaky oil filter or a pinhole in the oil filter housing.

Zackattack 05-30-2011 03:33 PM

I also had a oil issue this year, in that it was coming out the valve cover tubes up to the carb. and then coating the engine. Found it to be the mechanic who changed my oil had put in an extra quart! Removed one quart and shazam, all is good.

I hope you identify the leak.

Sparky 05-30-2011 11:36 PM